God’s Mathematics

By June Foster

When I was an elementary teacher, I used the Venn diagram to teach the set theory showing the relationship between two groups of objects, numbers, concepts, etc.

The other day when I read “Jesus Calling” about our relationship with God, I thought of a small circle with me in the center. Then another with God in the center. I placed the God circle so it would intersect the me circle.

Part of me intersects with the God circle. But I’m holding back the rest of me and not allowing God in. I need to “erase” the two lines. Not only that, I need to move the me circle all the way into the God circle. And of course that circle is infinitely larger than the minuscule me circle. As large as infinity. No man could draw it.

I’m wondering how many of us intersect with God but hold back a portion of ourselves. Let’s erase any barriers that keep us from the Lord. Let’s live in perfect union with Him.

If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. For whoever wants to save his life will love it, but however loses his life for me and for the gospel will save it. Mark 8: 34-35.

Tim Garrett saw Jess Colton back to health in Give Us This Day but can’t control his own life. He wants nothing more than to serve God as a pastoral counselor, but first must prove to the staff and elders at Bellewood Fellowship he can handle the job he was hired to do — work with the senior high youth.

Roxanne Ratner’s father abandoned her when she was ten, and now she doesn’t trust men. They’ll only hurt her like her parent did. She fills the empty place in her heart with shopping for designer clothes. Though the perky young hairstylist falls in love with the Tim, she must keep her distance from the handsome pastor.

Despite Tim’s efforts to prove himself on the job, everything works against him bringing him closer to dismissal. Tim has one last chance at Camp Solid Rock. When Tim learns a frightening secret from his youthful adversary, can he make a difference? Can Roxanne risk giving her heart to Tim?

June Foster is a retired school teacher with a BA in Education and a MA in counseling. She writes full time and travels in her RV with her husband Joe. June has written four novels for Desert Breeze Publishing. The Bellewood Series, Give Us This Day – February 1, 2012, As We Forgive – September 1, 2012, and Deliver Us – April 1, 2013, and Hometown Fourth of July – July 1, 2012. June loves to write stories about characters who overcome the issues in their lives by the power of God and His Word. June uses her training in counseling and her Christian beliefs in creating characters who find freedom to live godly lives. June’s book, Ryan’s Father, will be published by WhiteFire Publishing in the near future.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment